Brahmand NewsPrevious Article
Brahmand NewsNext Article

ISRO to launch record 20 satellites on June 22

A file photo.

BENGALURU (PTI): Indian Space Research Organisation will launch a record 20 satellites in a single mission on June 22 from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh.

Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle PSLV-C34 will be used to carry the satellites, including India's earth observation spacecraft Cartosat-2, from the Second Launch Pad (SLP) of Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 09.25 AM, ISRO said on Thursday.

"Mission Readiness Review (MRR) committee and Launch Authorisation Board (LAB) will meet in the days to come. After reviewing, clearance will be given for the countdown," a senior ISRO official told PTI.

The space agency had earlier sent 10 satellites into orbit in a single mission in 2008.

PSLV-C34 will launch 19 co-passenger satellites together weighing about 560 kg at lift-off into a 505 km polar Sun Synchronous Orbit (SSO).

ISRO said the total weight of all the 20 satellites carried on board PSLV-C34 is about 1,288 kg.

The co-passengers include satellites from the US, Canada, Germany and Indonesia as well as two satellites from Indian Universities.

The mission would carry LAPAN A3 of Indonesia, BIROS of Germany, SKYSAT GEN 2-1 of US, MVV of Germany among the micro satellites, ISRO sources had earlier said.


ISRO  Satellite  PSLV  

BRAHMOS Missile Systems


Brahmand World Defence Update 2023

Brahmand World Defence Update

Image Gallery